What is the best way to find the most affordable car insurance in Indiana? Enter your zip code in the box and click “Get Quotes.” It really is that easy. The minimum amounts and auto insurance requirements vary from state to state. Different insurance companies need your zip code to determine the amount you need to pay on your insurance premiums. Choose among the various rates wisely instead of just picking out the cheapest amount on the list and you can be sure that you will save on costs in the future.
Indiana Car Insurance Laws
Drivers in the state of Indiana are required to have the ability to pay for any costs incurred resulting from an accident if they are found at fault. To show proof of financial responsibility, a driver can:
• File a bond or a certificate of self-insurance;
• Deposit $40,000 in cash or securities held by the state; or
• Carry the state’s minimum liability coverage.
All drivers in Indiana are required to purchase liability insurance.
The mandatory minimum liability coverage amounts are $25,000 in injury liability per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident, and $10,000 in property damage liability. In addition, the Department of Insurance requires that all new Indiana car insurance policies include uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage unless the holder of the policy expressly rejects the coverage in writing. The minimum amount for uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage is $25,000/$50,000. For uninsured motorist coverage, the minimum is $10,000, while the lowest you can pay for underinsured bodily injury coverage is $50,000.
Aside from meeting the insurance requisites mentioned above, you must meet another important Indiana vehicle insurance law, which is to carry the insurance information card in your vehicle at all times. Law enforcers can stop you anytime, either for a safety check or a traffic violation, so you need to be able to present the necessary documents.
Driving without a license in Indiana is a Class A infraction, which becomes a Class C misdemeanor if the driver has had prior convictions for the violation. Aside from getting the license suspended, the driver can also be assessed points. The point study committee will determine the number of points based on an evaluation of the situation. In the state of Indiana, an infraction is the least serious offense to commit, usually involving minor ones like traffic violations. Because infractions are civil in nature, you cannot be imprisoned for them. However, you can be penalized for up to $10,000 for the highest type of violation.
It does not matter if you get cheap car insurance in Indiana, the important thing is that you meet the minimum requirements because if you are caught driving without proper insurance coverage, your license will be suspended for 90 days. The suspension can last for a year if you commit multiple offenses within a three-year period.
The driver’s license can only be reinstated after paying $150 for the first offense, $225 for the second offense, and $300 for consequent offenses. To complete the reinstatement process, the driver must also present a proof of valid insurance.
Compare Multiple Indiana Auto Insurance Quotes
To make sure you will find low cost auto insurance coverage, you need to get quotes from different auto insurance companies. There are several ways to go about it but the easiest – and the fastest – is to check online. Thanks to the internet, obtaining quotes from multiple insurance providers is not only a privilege but a money-saving option as well.
SR-22 is the form that car insurance companies use to notify the DMV that an insured has required insurance coverage. This form may be submitted as proof of financial responsibility that the home office of the insurance company furnishes to the DMV.
As in the other states, having excessive driver points can be grounds for the suspension or revocation of your license. Outstanding traffic tickets, DUI, DWI, and reckless driving are some examples of major violations that can add to the driver points. If your license is suspended for the reasons mentioned earlier, you need to obtain a particular type of insurance for the license to be reinstated.
SR-22 is a type of high-risk insurance that has a specific sent of stipulations not found in other car insurance coverage. Under the SR-22 insurance, the insurance company must certify the coverage to the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) in your state. Under Indiana laws, the company must notify the DMV if the policy is canceled, terminated, or has lapsed. Even if you no longer own a car, you must get a non-owner SR-22 policy if you are required to obtain SR-22 insurance.
For the driving privileges to be reinstated, SR-22 auto liability insurance should be carried for three years. The period also applies to non-owner SR-22 insurance. Throughout the three year period, the law requires the insurance company to inform the DMV if (1) your premium payments are late, (2) there is a lapse in your SR-22 policy for whatever reason, and (3) you switch insurance providers.
Your license will be suspended immediately for failure to company with the SR-22 car insurance requirements if your insurance company notifies the DMV for any reason. Complying with the requirements is very important that if you fail to make payments on time or if your coverage lapses, your license will be suspended. You need to renew your SR-22 policy before your driving privileges are restored and the three-year period will start all over again.
Get Indiana Car Insurance Quotes Now
A list of multiple quotes from various insurance companies is just a few clicks away. You only need to type in your zip code in the box and press “Get Quotes.” After that, fill out the fields with your personal information, the information about your car, and other necessary data that may be required. Submit the results and wait for a list of multiple online auto insurance quotes. Go over the companies carefully and read the conditions in detail to make sure that you can get cheap auto insurance in Indiana.